Thelonious Monk - Criss-Cross

1963's Criss-Cross served as Thelonious Monk's second for Columbia Records following Monk's Dream which was issued earlier the same year. Produced by Teo Macero, the singular pianist is joined on the first-rate 8-song endeavor by the likes of Charlie Rouse(tenor saxophone), John Ore (bass) and Frankie Dunlop (drums). The excellent quartet offers up takes on six classic Monk compositions including "Hackensack," "Criss-Cross," "Eronal," "Rhythm-A-Thing," "Think Of One" and "Crepuscule With Nellie" to go along with compelling renditions of the standards "Tea for Two" and "Don't Blame Me."